Community’s Bridge to the Future Gala

The Dutchess Community College Foundation’s Annual Gala - Community’s Bridge to the Future – was held on Saturday, March 28 at the Grandview in Poughkeepsie. We were pleased that Betsy Brown ’64 and Vincent Nunziato co-chaired this event.

We were honored that Lisa Cathie ’86, of Ulster Savings Bank and John Coppola ’82, of Coppola’s Restaurants were inducted into our Alumni Hall of Fame that evening  for their outstanding professional contributions and their commitment to our community. We were pleased to honor Robert R. Dyson of the Dyson Foundation with the Bernard Handel Community Leadership Award, which is awarded to members of our community that provide leadership in Dutchess County through volunteer work.

This year the DCC Foundation Board of Directors along with Dr. Pamela Edington, President, created a new award, the Bridge to the Future Award, which has been established to recognize individuals and organizations that distinguish themselves in working with others to enhance education, economic vitality, community wellness or civic responsibility in the Mid-Hudson Valley. Emil Panichi of Royal Carting was selected as the first honoree to be presented this award.

“Education is about partnerships. Whether it’s the connection between a student and professor in the classroom, or the support a student receives at home, the success of an institution and the students it serves truly is a group effort,” said President Edington. “It’s the same when it comes to our surrounding community. Both DCC and Dutchess County enjoy benefits from their partnership, and it’s people such as Lisa, John, Rob and Emil that contribute to the character and vitality of the Hudson Valley and make the bond between college and community as strong as it is.”

Join DCC in raising money to help students afford a quality education right here in Dutchess County. Help us honor our future Alumni Hall of Fame award recipient and the Bernard Handel Community Leadership Award recipient.

To see a listing of past year honorees for the Alumni Hall of Fame or the Handel Community Leadership Award click here.

For more information contact Martha Russell at (845) 431-8402 or


2014 Sponsors

Bowne Sponsor

Hudson Sponsors
Rhinebeck Savings Bank

Media Sponsor

Bonura logo


Rhinebeck Savings Bank