Academic Success Events

Spring 2014

 *          *         *

 

       

Understanding College Culture – A “Must” for College Freshman – Recognize the differences between high school and college to successfully maneuver through your first semester and beyond.

Wednesday, January 22

Thursday, January 23

Optimize Learning – How to Get the Best Grades Possible – Learn tips to plot your course toward a successful semester.

Wednesday, January 29

Thursday, January 30

 

Computer Essentials – Develop basic to intermediate level computer skills

necessary to complete college coursework.

Wednesday, February 5

 

     Overcoming Math Anxiety – Hear about strategies for enhancing your math confidence.

Wednesday, February 12

Thursday, February 13

 

   Test Prep and Test-Taking Strategies – Learn strategies for success on preparing for and taking different types of exams.

Wednesday, February 26

Thursday, February 27

 

Financial Aid – Earn It and Keep It – Receive guidance on the financial aid

application process and minimum academic requirements needed to keep aid.

Wednesday, March 5

 

Book Club – Persepolis, a autobiographical graphic novel by Marjane Satrapi depicting her childhood in Iran during and after the Islamic revolution.

Launch – Get a FREE copy of the book – Thursday, March 6

Discussion I - Thursday, March 27

     Discussion lI - Thursday, April 10

     

Real People, Real World – Take advantage of an opportunity forcareerexploration

and networking with professionals.

Thursday, April 3

 

Succeed on Exams – Learn tips on studying smarter for final exams.

Wednesday, April 16

Thursday, April 17

                 

    

    Click here for a printable copy of this list.

Events Meet in

Hudson Hall Room 315

at the following times:

Tuesday’s: 12:30 pm

Wednesday’s: 12:00 pm

Thursday’s: 12:30 pm

 

RSVP is requested to: Email: DCCLearningCenter@sunydutchess.edu

Phone: (845) 431-8090

In Person: Hudson 315

 

Offered by Academic Services and Testing

Student Academic Success Center

Hudson Hall Room 315